Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (2010)

So I’ve been watching a lot of Hollywood recently: Tangled, Love and Other Drugs, and now The Lightning Thief. Noticing this trend in my blog, I vowed to watch a not-so-popular film next, but this afternoon my little siblings Sean, Kevin and Althea coerced me to see this movie and I couldn’t refuse. I only downloaded it for them in the first place.

Based on the first book in Rick Riordan’s popular series, the movie invites viewers to enter a world where Greek mythology exists as reality. In this first installment, Percy Jackson (Logan Lerman) accidentally discovers his identity as the son of Poseidon when Zeus accuses him of stealing his lightning bolt. To protect him from Hades (who wants the treasure for himself and believes the boy has it), his satyr-protector Grover (Brandon T. Jackson) leads him to a secret training camp for demigods. There he meets other half-mortals like Luke (Jake Abel) and Annabeth (Alexandra Daddario), who aid him in his quest to prove his innocence to the gods and rescue his mother from the Underworld.

I will say it outright: I didn’t like this movie, and though I will try not to make this review a list of complaints, frankly I don’t think it will turn out any other way. My main problem with The Lightning Thief is that it’s not convincing enough: unimpressive acting, innumerable plot holes, stock characters. It’s easy to recognize the stereotypes: the funny sidekick, the smart-beautiful-strong lady-love (perfect, like the one in Eragon), the deceiving friend. The proliferation of happy coincidences didn’t help alleviate my consternation with this film. “That was convenient,” Sean said during one scene (I forgot which, the remark applies to so many). And it is true: so many coincidental things occur in this film, and yes, other movies have that too, but the problem is this one didn’t suspend my disbelief. At all.

I think I have to cite a few good points now. The fight scenes and special effects were okay, pretty standard. I appreciated the whole Greek mythology aspect of the movie as well as its occasionally successful attempts at hilarity, but overall I really, really didn’t like it. My siblings enjoyed it a lot though. It’s nice to know that at least kids can see past all my complaints, even though I obviously couldn’t.

‘Persephone! What could possibly be taking so long? Don’t ignore me!’ ‘Or what? What will you do? I’m already in hell.’

‘Just because you didn’t see me doesn’t mean I wasn’t there.’

‘You can receive all the training in the world but ultimately you have to follow your instincts.’

Leave a Reply

