Thor (2011)

All right, it was a short-lived vow. Still, I wouldn’t have broken it for something like Thor if it hadn’t been for the sake of company. Last weekend I went to a movie theater with DA, Jes, Sarah, Marck, Ed and Ryan. I didn’t even want to watch this, but I hadn’t seen these guys in a while and online reviews say it’s pretty good so I thought, why not? Turns out theater-going isn’t so bad after all, as long as you’re seated in time for some trailers and you have a strong bladder. About everything else, you can only hope that other people get there on time as well and don’t stand up too often.

Spanning the three realms of Earth, Asgard, and Yodenheim, Thor offers a cast of immortals: Chris Hemsworth as the god of thunder, Tom Hiddleston as Loki, and Anthony Hopkins as Odin. Natalie Portman plays Jane Foster, an astrophysicist Thor meets after his father banishes him to the human world. In Thor’s absence, betrayals and racial conflicts rock his native Asgard, eventually exposing an unexpected opponent he must defeat in order to restore peace.

Superhero movies tend to follow a certain formula, we all know that, and recent mass production has made stereotypes of many characters. But I like the humans in Thor. Erik, Darcy, and Jane are quirky, funny, perhaps even endearing if given enough screen time. The gods, in striking contrast, fall into the easiest stereotypes: wise father, wayward son, loyal friends. Of all of them, Loki’s character has the most potential. He has an interesting background and a complex personality, yet all this is brushed aside in favor of the title character. Unfortunately, Thor is boring, predictable. Everything about him is unconvincing: his early decisions, emotional growth, even his romance with Jane. Then again superheroes are generally like this: maybe the entire franchise just doesn’t appeal to me (except for Iron Man, but we all know Tony Stark doesn’t really have superpowers).

All in all, Thor strikes me as average. I wouldn’t call it a waste of money, but I definitely could have gone without it. The special effects are awesome, and I actually like the ending—minus some cheesy lines between father and son. It’s entertaining enough, if that’s just what you’re looking for, but it’s not something I’d want to see again, or even remember for a long time.

‘For the first time in my life, I have no idea what I’m supposed to do.’

‘I have no plans to die today.’ ‘None do.’

6 thoughts on “Thor (2011)

  1. rinaisnotyours

    Feeling ko maraming ma-ooffend pag nabasa nila to :)) Daming sobrang obsessed sa Thor ngayon eh (I don’t know why, I haven’t watched it yet either :P)

    Reply
    1. Mich Post author

      E, hindi ko talaga masyado trip e. Ang bilis kaya ng mga pangyayari, lalo na nung simula. Panoorin mo, tapos tell me what you think! Hehe.

      Reply
  2. Le Mike

    BLASPHEHMY! Hahaha. I didn’t know you dislike superhero movies. You’ve finally turned into a cineaste. :P

    I haven’t watched this yet, though I swear, there really seems to be a huge difference between how girls and boys enjoy movies.

    Reply
    1. Mich Post author

      Hindi ko lang talaga trip, parang hard science fiction (in general) haha. Don’t break this down to gender! I know guys who didn’t enjoy it that much either. Ok lang siya, alam mo yun, pero hindi talaga wow e. Ako na-wow sa Iron Man e haha.

      Reply
  3. rinaisnotyours

    I watched it na. I super agree. Sobrang labo ng character development. Bigla na lang naging mabait si Thor. Tas bigla nalang sila nainlove ni Natalie Portman (whose name in the movie I can’t even remember). Tas ung special effects mukhang final fantasy (not realistic enough).

    Reply
    1. Mich Post author

      I know right! Dahil lang yata batak na batak si Thor haha. Sa effects naman, easy to please lang ako e haha. Hala Rina, magagalit lahat ng Thor fans satin!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

